Professor’s SPELLING CORRECTIONS on student papers called racist

Yes, I’ve seen this here in Britain as a teacher in a secondary school. I was branded racist for not allowing the word ‘dis’ to replace ‘this’ on scientific papers. I pointed out to the students that accuracy of language was an important element of communicating scientific ideas, therefore could not be overlooked. A letter from some, minority, students was given to the principle (head teacher in UK) stating that my corrections were racist. The head teacher told me to be more careful with some people and that I needed to be more flexible with language in 21st Century Britain. I should have left teaching then, but I persevered to my cost.

Don't be shy, Write a Reply:

